School Improvement – The Political Question: Kingdom or Village?

LEADERSHIP247

I’ve been spending a lot of my time recently talking about the new building (the 530,000 square foot middle/high school we are designing).  I meet regularly with architects, interior designers, and technology experts.  Our goal is to put in place a true 22nd learning environment.  Many of these professionals ask me “What’s wrong with the standard classroom?” or more specifically, “What is the goal for your new/modern classroom?”.  So I have done quite a bit of  thinking to explain what I hope for and I’ve come up with a comparative analogy.

Classrooms are like countries.  Some are authoritarian monarchies.  Others are democracies, or as I like to think of them, villages.  In a standard, I will even say “old fashioned” classroom, we have an authoritarian monarchy established.  Sometimes we even call this a “sage on the stage” mentality.  It is easiest to spot these kingdoms because they always have…

View original post 416 more words

This entry was posted in Education, Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

